Astronomy compels the soul to look upwards and leads us from this world to another.

Constellation Guide

By , Written on

189 words, estimated reading time 1 minutes.

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.


The Lynx

It is so named because it is a relatively faint constellation, and one would supposedly need the eyes of a lynx to see it.

No further details exist for this item.


Since Lynx is a particularly faint constellation, and was not recognised before the 17th century, it has no pre 17th century mythology associated with it. Johannes Hevelius is said to have named the constellation lynx because only the lynx-eyed (or those of good sight) would have been able to recognise it. Hevelius only mapped the constellation, which is little more than a few dim stars zig zagging in a line, because he wanted to fill the open gap between the constellations Ursa Major and Auriga.

More Constellations

Last updated on: Monday 3rd April 2017

Did you Like this Post? Why not Like us on Facebook?



There are no comments for this post. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.