Astronomy compels the soul to look upwards and leads us from this world to another.

Constellation Guide

By , Written on

189 words, estimated reading time 1 minutes.

Constellation guide to the 88 official constellations which divide up the sky. These constellations are used to help navigate the celestial sphere. The Constellations are patterns in the sky which have been to invented and have deep mythology behind them. Constellations cover massive areas in the sky and as such are very easy to find.


The Charioteer

Auriga is a northern constellation. It was one of the 48 constellations listed by Ptolemy.

Auriga has many open clusters and other deep sky objects because the Milky Way runs through it. The three brightest open clusters are M36, M37 and M38, all of which are visible in binoculars or a small telescope. A larger telescope resolves individual stars.


Auriga is said to represent Myrtilus, the charioteer of King Oenomaus. The king was jealous of anyone who came to seek his daughter's hand in marriage. Being noted for his love of horses, the king announced that all suitors would have to take part in a chariot race against him and, should they lose, pay with their lives.

More Constellations

Last updated on: Monday 3rd April 2017

Did you Like this Post? Why not Like us on Facebook?



There are no comments for this post. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.